Ocean prey
Ocean prey : Credit: Pixabay

Ocean Prey – Book Review (John Sandford)

Ocean Prey is the 31st book in the Prey series by John Sandford. This is definitely one of the best books in the series, right there with Certain Prey and Rules of Prey!

Usually a Prey book portrays only Lucas Davenport as the main protagonist. But in Ocean Prey, Virgil Flowers and Lucas Davenport share the limelight together. And this is a major plus point for this story. John Sandford (who recently recovered from an arm fracture) mentioned that this year, he is releasing only one book instead of two, so both the heroes work together in this Prey installment and a Virgil Flowers novel that is usually released every October, will not come out this year.

Ocean Prey packs a punch with its story-line based on unsolved murders of a few Coastguards men in Fort Lauderdale in Florida. When the FBI could not move any further in solving the case, Lucas Davenport is asked to look into it by the heads of the country. He decides to take a very small team and Bob and Rae Givens make an appearance too. I do not want to spoil the story for you by saying anything more but expect the book to have all the essential elements of a superb blockbuster including tragedy.

Lucas works with the FBI team on the case and turns over all the rocks possible. He obviously gets results within a few days and attracts malicious attention from the murderers. The bad guys are very clever too, a perfect match for Davenport.

With some undercover cops, this plot-line is pretty interesting even though it touches a bit of technical stuff related to diving and deep sea exploring. What I loved the most was the amazingly funny afterword by the author who speaks candidly about the unavoidable, unintentional editing errors. Don’t forget to read the last line of the afterword, you can thank me after you have finishing laughing and rolling on the floor 😀

Letty and Sam are not really mentioned in this book, Weather is as usual busy with her hospital work and Davenport plans to take the family on a good long vacation after this case is closed.

I would say, definitely grab a copy and have an amazing beach read this summer!

Check out Ocean Prey on Amazon now!

For the review of my previous book in the Prey series, read Masked Prey – Book Review.

The next book in the Prey series will be released on October 4, 2022 instead of the regular April release as per norm till date. Eagerly awaiting Righteous Prey!

The story line for this plot involves both Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers because from this year the author is planning to release only one book per year. The dynamic duo of Davenport and Flowers will be tackling a team of vigilante killers. Sounds very exciting, right?

So, Virgil Flowers fans would be disappointed that there is no dedicated book being released with Flowers only as a protagonist. As for me, I am very glad that the author is releasing at least a Prey book every year even if Lucas has to share space with *** Flowers!

Unfortunately, John Sandford suffered another injury this year on his Key West trip after the shoulder injury setback of 2020. Wishing the brilliant author a speedy recovery!

You can pre-order your copy of Righteous Prey (A Prey Novel Book 32) on Amazon.

For the complete list of Sandford’s Prey series books, check my post List Of Prey Series Books.

Ocean Prey - John Sandford, book review
Save for later!

About Priyadarshini Rajendran 201 Articles
Priyadarshini Rajendran is a travel enthusiast, avid reader and a passionate writer. She has a few of her books published and is writing more books. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked as a software consultant taking breaks for her travels. Her blog is her passion and she writes about travel, books and food on the blog. She offers customized itineraries for South Indian destinations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.