certain prey by John Sandford

Certain Prey – Book Review

Certain Prey is the tenth book in the Prey Series novels written by crime-fiction author John Sandford. This is the first book in the Prey novels list, that I have chanced to lay my hands on. And after reading it, there was no turning back. I hunted down all the books in the series and bought them. I hope Sandford continues to deliver more of such excellent books.

It is very thrilling to dwell in the world of Lucas Davenport, a super-smart, handsome, cunning, passionate cop, who thinks with all his faculties. In Certain Prey, Lucas Davenport traces the untraceable Clara Rinker, a professional hit-woman, with whom he has a brief fantasy. She is smart, cold, executes perfect close range shots with her hand gun and, is hard to find.

Clara Rinker took to professional hit jobs after a personal revenge killing. She is a everyday girl-next-door kind of character, until you get to see her other side. Loyal to her friends, she is feared by her enemies. It was very interesting to see Lucas and Clara clash with each other in Minneapolis, two strong characters fighting to outwit each other. If it was not for the useless killing of a woman, whose husband was the object of fascination for the person who hired Clara, she would have not been found at all.

In this story, Lucas Davenport and Marcy Sherrill are in the awkward phase of working together after breaking up. There is no mention of Weather Karkinnen in the book. But Lucas  is shown to have finally overcome the depression that he was in after Weather leaves him due to a hostage incident that occurred in Sudden Prey.

This is definitely a book one cannot put down once started. A great thriller. I really wished Davenport does not get Rinker, but he traces her to her beloved place in Wichita. And she disappears. She reappears in Mortal Prey where the war of wits starts again.

For the review of the next book in the Prey series read Easy Prey.

For the review of the previous book in the Prey series read Secret Prey.

For the complete list of Sandford’s Prey series books, check List Of Prey Series Books.

About Priyadarshini Rajendran 105 Articles
Priyadarshini Rajendran is a travel enthusiast, avid reader and a passionate writer. She has a few of her books published and is writing more books. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked as a software consultant taking breaks for her travels. Her blog is her passion and she writes about travel, books and food on the blog. She offers customized itineraries for South Indian destinations.

1 Comment Posted

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.